How to Install HP Printer Drivers in Mac OSX Lion

When I updated my iBook from Mac OS X Tiger to OS X Leopard, I suddenly found that I couldn’t print on my old HP printer. When I got my Macbook Air running Mac OS X Lion, I was faced with the same problem, which was that I couldn’t get my HP printer to run.

I don’t remember having to install or download printer drivers when I first got my iBook running Mac OS X Tiger. I just plugged in my printer and it was ready to use.

Where do you got to install printer drives in HP printers in Mac OSX 10.7 Lion?

But I suppose OSX Leopard and the succeeding OSs were cutting the fat where it can and preinstalled printer drivers were giving the OS larger footprints. So the solution was to have fewer printers installed.

What do you do to install the printer driver for your new OS? Read more after the jump.

It was way convenient to have printer drivers preinstalled. I was really amazed by OSX Tiger when I first used it. As a Windows XP user before I got my iBook, all device drivers had to be installed from CD-ROMs. And I didn’t really realize it was such a hassle until i got my iBook.

Now, with OSX Leopard, Snow Leopard, and Lion, I have to look for device drivers again. Even new printers don’t have drivers built into Mac OSX. They should be easy to find online, right? But where do I find them, exactly where?

After a little bit of searching, I found out what to do. Here are the steps for Lion users.

Step 1: Install HP printer driver for Mac OSX Lion

  1. Turn on HP printer
  2. Connect the printer to USB
  3. Add something to print queue to the HP printer
  4. Click Apple  > Software Update, wait for Mac OSX to check for new software for your HP printer
  5. When the Software Update window opens, look for the appropriate update for your HP printer, select it, and click the Install button
  6. When prompted, enter your administration account name and password.
  7. When the software update completes, you might be required to restart your computer.

Next, you have to add your printer.

To add your HP printer in the print queue using System Preferences.

Step 2: Add your HP printer

  1. Launch System Preferences;
  2. Click Print & Scan;
  3. Click the plus sign to the bottom of the left-hand pane. The name of your HP printer should appear;
  4. Select your HP printer and click the Add button. (You must select the USB connection type for a USB-connected printer);
  5. Click Install;
  6. In the software license agreement window, click Agree to install the software;
  7. After the installation is done, verify to see if your HP printer displays in the printer queue.

Click the plus sign to the bottom of the left-hand pane.

Select your HP printer and click the Add button.

The instructions were adapted from the HP site for Mac OS X Lion printer driver updates.

Was this helpful? Let me know what you think of this post in the comments section.

See more tips for Mac OS X 10.7 Lion here:

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
The Esquire Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 165 other followers

