How to stay safe: Think before installing

Attacks that threaten Mac OS X may be few and far between but they still occur. One way to protect yourself is to stop to think before installing software.

Continue reading

Advertisements

How to Activate Private Browsing in Google Chrome

Safari and Firefox in Mac OSX have something called private browsing. In Google Chrome, it’s called opening an incognito window.

This is Google Chrome in normal browsing mode. You can turn on private browsing in Google Chrome to keep it from storing your browsing history.

Google Chrome runs on Intel Macs running OSX Leopard or later. In incognito mode, Google Chrome does not store your browsing history or your search history. Temporary files, cookies, and download history aren’t kept either. They should all be gone after you’ve closed your browser (except for downloaded files should still be on your computer unless you manually delete them).

Incognito browsing is pretty handy if you are using a shared computer and you don’t want other people to see what sites you have visited.

Say you are shopping for a gift for a family member and you don’t want that person to see what where you’ve been doing your online shopping.

Learn more about private browsing (also called “porn mode”) after the jump.

Continue reading

Blog at WordPress.com.

%d bloggers like this: